Skip to content

A&O advises Vauban’s acquisition of DB Energy Assets and Beacon Energy Holdings

A&O has advised Vauban Infrastructure Partners (Vauban) on its acquisition of DB Energy Assets, LLC, and Beacon Energy Holdings, LLC (together, the company) from Basalt Infrastructure Partners II LP and DCO Energy, LLC.

The deal was supported by A&O practice groups based in New York, Washington, D.C. and Luxembourg.

The transaction expands Vauban’s global footprint to the U.S. through the acquisition of eight district heating and cooling systems across five states in the Northeast and Midwest. These district systems provide cost-effective, sustainable energy solutions to a diverse set of customer segments, including higher education, healthcare, commercial, manufacturing, hospitality, government, retail and other sectors.

The transaction will also provide Vauban with access to technology and DCO Energy’s seasoned management personnel that are essential for lowering the environmental impact of the company’s facilities over time.

“Advising on this transaction, Vauban’s first in the U.S., was a proud achievement for the A&O team and will help Vauban in its goal of establishing a sustainable platform in the U.S.,” said Jillian Ashley, partner in the Projects, Energy, Natural Resources and Infrastructure (PENRI) practice group. “A&O looks forward to continuing to advise more clients on cross border business efforts to invest in assets with great prospects for contributing to energy transition.”

The A&O deal team was led by New York partner Jillian Ashley with support from partners David Christensen, Ken Rivlin, Brian Jebb, Elaine Johnston, Keren Livneh and Dave Lewis in New York, as well as partners Chip Cannon in Washington, D.C. and Fabian Beullekens in Luxembourg. Additional support was provided by James Bryson, Lauren Diner, Chynna Foucek, Alann Le Guillou, Jaime Hernandez, John Hibbard, Brendan Holman, Eun Joo Hwang, Nathanael Kraintz, Rachel Lee, Ian Mack, Binta Mamadou, Natalie Montano Young, Nick Ognibene, Jacob Reed, Domingo Rios Rivera, Cairistiona Simmonds, Connor Steelberg and Raphaël Theiss.